No appointment necessary!
We smog test all vehicle years, makes, and models including; diesels, out of state, and change of ownership vehicles.
When your vehicle passes we immediately send your smog certification electronically to the DMV. We also give you a paper copy for your records.
Most of our customers pass their smog test on their first try. For the few who don't, we advise them on how to get their vehicle ready to pass in the cheapest and easiest way possible.
How long will my smog check take?
If your vehicle is year 2000 and newer we will normally have you in and out in less than 30 minutes. Vehicles 1999 and older can take a little longer.
What do I need to bring with me?
It is helpful to bring your DMV notice or registration, however we can still perform your Smog Check if you forget to bring it. The registered owner does not need to be present.
What is a STAR Certified Station?
STAR stations are Smog Check stations that are able to pass and certify all years, makes and models of vehicles.
What do I need to do if my vehicle fails the test?
There are many different reasons why a vehicle might fail, but no worries, we will advise you on how to get your vehicle to pass in the cheapest and easiest way possible.
How can I know when my vehicle is ready to pass its Smog Check retest?
We can loan you a device called a Ready-Meter for that purpose. It is easy to use and we will show you how to use it. It requires a fully refundable deposit of $40. Your other option for year 2000 and newer vehicles is to have us pre-check your vehicle for $10 before you do your official retest with us.
I do not have enough funds to fix my vehicle. What are my options?
The State of California offers repair assistance and vehicle retirement options to income eligible consumers whose vehicles have failed a Smog Check. You can apply online at: https://www.bar.ca.gov/Consumer/Consumer_Assistance_Program/
Can you recommend a repair shop?
California state law does not allow us to recommend any repair shops. Please visit: https://www.bar.ca.gov/pubwebquery/station/stationlist.aspx
to find a repair station nearest you.
My vehicle is registered out of state and I do not plan to register my vehicle in California. My state requires emission testing for my renewal. Will the state I'm from accept a California Smog Check?
Most states do, but consult with your state's DMV to be sure.
I lost my Smog Check results and/or my copy of the certificate. Can I get a copy?
Yes. Duplicate copies are $10.00.
Processing time can take up to 48 hours to get it to you.
Do you do Brake and Light Inspections?
No. For a list of stations please visit:
Do you do VIN Verifications?
No. VIN Verifications are done at your local DMV.
2. You may receive a Temporary Operating Permit at the DMV with your failed Smog Check from us. Visit your local DMV for more information.
3. The State of California offers repair assistance and vehicle retirement options to income eligible consumers whose vehicles have failed a Smog Check. You can apply online at:
Copyright © 2021-2022 California Smog Certification, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.